

www.iifa.uevora.pt

INSTITUTE FOR ADVANCED STUDIES

AND RESEARCH

IIFA



www.iifa.uevora.pt

INSTITUTE FOR ADVANCED STUDIES AND RESEARCH

A Note from the Dean

The Institute for Advanced Studies and Research is a recent organic unit created by the University of Évora that has as its mission to create and implement a coherent and integrated research activities, as well as the promotion of advanced studies.

Like the Doctoral Schools that are emerging in many European Universities, the Doctoral School of IIFA assumes the leadership of the scientific activity of the University of Évora, to develop synergies between the supply of the advanced studies (PhD

Programs and International Masters) and the scientific capacities installed in its R&D Units. Our priorities focus on the following: promoting the internationalization of the research teams; development of the scientific culture; guiding the processes of the accreditation of the courses; support of the centers in the international evaluation processes; supporting the Endowed Chairs and the Post-Doctoral programs; and in the integrated use of scientific infrastructures.

The challenge is to put research and advanced studies of the University of Évora within the orbit of the best European Universities, which will only be possible with time, the effort and the wills of all involved! All hands to work...

The Dean of the IIFA

Prof. Soumodip Sarkar



Contacts

Dean:

Professor Soumodip Sarkar

Secretary:

Eng^a Cláudia Magalhães Marques

Scientífic-Pedagogic Council

Professor Manuel Collares Pereira

Universidade de Évora Instituto de Investigação & Formação Avançada (IIFA) Palácio do Vimioso Largo Marquês de Marialva - Apart. 94 7002 - 554 Évora

Tel. + 351 266 706 581 Fax. +351 266 744 677

E-mail: iifa@uevora.pt



Erasmus Mundus Courses

Dynamics of Health and Welfare (PHOENIX)

Director: Professor Laurinda Abreu

European Master of Science in Nematology (EUMAINE)

Director: Professor Manuel Melo e Mota

Technique, Patrimoines, Territoires de L'Industrie: Histoire, Valorisation Didactique (TPTI)

Director: Professor Ana Cardoso Matos

ARCHMAT - ARCHaeological MATerials Science

Director: Professor Nicola Schiavon

PHOENIX Erasmus Mundus - Joint Doctoral Program on Dynamics of Health and Welfare Director: Professor Laurinda Abreu



Research Units

Center for Advanced Studies in Management and Economics (CEGAGE) Director: Professor Joaquim Ramalho

History and Philosophy of Science Research Unit (CEHFCi) Director: Professora Maria de Fátima Nunes

Évora Geophysics Center (CGE) Director: Professor António Heitor da Silva Reis

Center for Art History and Artistic Research (CHAIA) *Director: Professor Paulo Simões Rodrigues*

Center of Studies in Letters (CEL) Director: Professor Maria do Céu Fonseca

Research Center in Mathematics and Applications (CIMA) Director: Professor Vladimir Bushenkov

Évora Chemistry Center (CQE) Director: Professor Peter Carrot

Research Unit in Political Science and International Relations (NICPRI) Director: Professor Silvério Rocha e Cunha

History, Culture and Societies Interdisciplinary (CIDEHUS) Director: Professor Maria Fernanda Olival

Institute for Mediterranean Agricultural and Environment Sciences (ICAAM) Director: Professor Teresa Pinto Correia

Research Unit in Music and Musicology (UnIMeM) Director: Professor Benoît Gibson

Institute for Practical Philosophy (IFP) Director: Professor Olivier Feron

Research Center in Biodiversityand Genetic Resources Director: Professor Miguel Araújo

Endowed Chairs

Rui Nabeiro Biodiversity Chair Dean: Professor Miguel Araújo

BES Renewable Energies Chair Dean: Professor Manuel Collares Pereira

UNESCO Chair

Dean: Professor Filipe Themudo Barata

Archeology Director: Professor Jorge Oliveira

Architecture Director: Professor João Carrilho da Graça

Landscape Arts and Techniques Director: Professor Aurora Carapinha

Visual Arts Director: Professor José Filipe Rocha da Silva

Computational Astrophysics Diretor: Professor Miguel Avillez

Biology Director: Professor Solange Oliveira

Biochemistry Director: Professor Ana Teresa Caldeira

Agricultural Sciences Director: Professor Gottlieb Basch

Educational Sciences Director: Professor António Neto

4

Sciences of the Territory and Environmental Engineering Director: Professor Franciscos Brito dos Santos

Library and Information Sciences Director: Professor Francisco Vaz

Earth and Space Sciences Director: Professor Mourad Bezzeghoud

Environmental Sciences Director: Professor António Pedro Santos

Veterinary Science Director: Professor Elsa Maria Leclerc Duarte

Economics Director: Professor Esmeralda Ramalho

Mechatronics Engineering and Energy Director: Professor João Figueiredo

Philosophy Director: Professor Irene Borges Duarte

Physics Director: Professor Ilídio Pereira Lopes

Management Director: Professor Cesaltina Pires

Interdisciplinary Management of Landscape Director: Professor Maria Teresa Pinto Correia

History (inter-university) Director: Professor Mafalda Soares da Cunha

History Director: Professor Filipe Themudo Barata

Contemporary History Director: Professor Helder Fonseca

Art History Director: Professor José Alberto Machado

History and Philosophy of Science Director: Professor Maria de Fátima Nunes

Computer Science Director: Professor Salvador Pinto de Abreu

Linguistics Director: Professor Maria João Marçalo

Literature Director: Professor Elisa Esteves

Mathematics Director: Professor Feliz Brandão Minhós

Music and Musicology Diretor: Professor Benoît Gibson

Psicology Director: Professor Adelinda Candeias

Chemistry Director: Professor Maria Manuela Carrott

Sociology Director: Professor Carlos Alberto da Silva

Legal and Political Theory and International Relations Director: Professor Silvério Rocha e Cunha

d Programs