

www.en.iifa.uevora.pt

INSTITUTE FOR ADVANCED STUDIES

AND RESEARCH

IIFA



www.en.iifa.uevora.pt

The Institute for Advanced Studies and Research (IIFA) is an organic unit of the University of Évora, active since 2009. Its mission is to promote the integration of teaching and research at the highest level within the University (3ºcycle), seeking the creation of the best conditions and the highest quality standards essential to attract to the University more and ever better students. It aims at being the vehicle for a strong dynamics, contributing to the promotion of a scientific culture adequate to the development of the University and to its indispensable outwards projection, in particular on to the region in which it is integrated and on an international scale. IIFA is at work towards :1) being a genuine Doctoral School 2) helping in a professional way, its Units and Research Centers in the very important tasks involved in the development, growth and internationalization of the University

For the first point and as it is being done in other Doctoral Schools in European Universities , IIFA established as a priority to promote, support, organize all procedures associated to the graduate courses being offered, in matters related to operation, accreditation and student integration. It also intends to initiate a stronger interaction of the students with each other, helping with the creation of conditions to foster a true School spirit and culture. As for the second point, IIFA wants to help stimulate the internationalization of the graduate education and the research being offered by the University, supporting new initiatives and collaborations (projects and programs in partnership) and researchers interchange; it will make itself available to the Units and Research Centers to help them in their development particularly with the rise of their incomes, through the establishment of an internal unit dedicated to science and intellectual property management and access facilitation to financing programs (regional, national and european) and the all-important contacts and interaction with industry; it will also seek synergies between the graduate education offer and all the existing scientific capacities at the level of the Units and Research Centers and also to contribute to the rationalization and organization of the use of existing scientific infrastructures which can be shared between Units and Centers.

The objectives, actions and topics mentioned in this brief note have always in the background **IIFA**'s will to be a substantial part of the University's efforts for the growth of its Attractiveness for its future students. In particular in what concerns future job opportunities, in a country which cannot dispense having in its development, a cultural and economic activity requiring its people to be educated at the highest level. This will be, at the same time, the way to progressively integrate the University and its advanced, graduated, education into the orbit of the best Universities, in Portugal, in the European Union and the rest of the World.

The Director

Contacts

Dean:

Professor Manuel Collares Pereira

Secretary:

Eng^a Cláudia Magalhães Marques

President of the Cientific Council

Professor António Candeias

Universidade de Évora Instituto de Investigação & Formação Avançada (IIFA) Palácio do Vimioso

Largo Marquês de Marialva - Apart. 94 7002 - 554 Évora

> Tel. + 351 266 706 581 Fax. +351 266 744 677 E-mail: iifa@uevora.pt



Prof. Manuel Collares Pereira

_

Erasmus Mundus Courses

Technique, Patrimoines, Territoires de L'Industrie: Histoire, Valorisation Didactique (TPTI)

Director: Professor Ana Cardoso Matos

ARCHMAT - ARCHaeological MATerials Science

Director: Professor Nicola Schiavon

PHOENIX Erasmus Mundus - Joint Doctoral Program on Dynamics of Health and Welfare

Director: Professor Laurinda Abreu

Endowed Chairs

Biodiversity Chair Professor Miguel Araújo

Renewable Energies Chair
Professor Manuel Collares Pereira

UNESCO Chair - Intangible Heritage and Traditional Know-How: Linking Heritage

Professor Filipe Themudo Barata

Research Units

Center for Advanced Studies in Management and Economics (CEGAGE)

Director: Professor Maria Aurora Galego

Institute of Contemporary History (IHC)

Director: Professor Maria de Fátima Nunes

Institute of Earth Sciences(ICT)

Director: Professor António Heitor da Silva Reis

Center for Art History and Artistic Research (CHAIA)

Director: Professor Paulo Simões Rodrigues

Center of Studies in Letters (CEL)

Director: Professor Fernando dos Santos Gomes

Research Center in Mathematics and Applications (CIMA)

Director: Professor Vladimir Bushenkov

Évora Chemistry Center (CQE)

Director: Professor Peter Carrot

Research Center Political Science (CICP)

Director: Professor Silvério Rocha e Cunha

History, Culture and Societies Interdisciplinary (CIDEHUS)

Director: Professor Fernanda Olival

Institute for Mediterranean Agricultural and Environment Sciences (ICAAM)

Director: Professor Teresa Pinto Correia

Research Center for the Sociology and Aesthetics of Music (CESEM)

Director: Professor Benoît Gibson

Institute for Practical Philosophy (IFP)

Director: Professor Olivier Feron

Research Network in Biodiversity and Evolutionary Biology

Director: Professor Miguel Araújo

Marine and Environmental Sciences Center (MARE-UE)

Director: Professor Pedro Raposo de Almeida

Research Center in Sports Sciences, Health Sciences and Human Development (CIDESD)

Director: Professor Armando Raimundo

Center for Researchin Education and Psychology (CIEP)

Director: Professor Marília Cid

Interdisciplinary Center of Social Sciences (CICS.NOVA))

Director: Professor Maria da Saudade Baltazar

Hercules Lab - Cultural Heritage Studies and Safeguard

Director: Professor António candeias

Laboratory of Informatics, Systems and Parallelism (LIPS)

Director: Professor Salvador Abreu

GeoBioSciences, GeoTechnologies and GeoEngineering (GEOBIOTEC)

Director: Professor Isabel Duarte

Architecture

Director: Professor João Soares

Landscape Arts and Techniques

Director: Professor Aurora Carapinha

Visual Arts

Director: Professor José Filipe Rocha da Silva

Computational Astrophysics

Diretor: Professor Miguel Avillez

Biology

Director: Professor Solange Oliveira

Biochemistry

Director: Professor Ana Teresa Caldeira

Agricultural Sciences

Director: Professor Gottlieb Basch

Educational Sciences

Director: Professor António Neto

Sciences of the Territory and Environmental Engineering

Director: Professor Franciscos Brito dos Santos

Library and Information Sciences

Director: Professor Francisco Vaz

Earth and Space Sciences

Director: Professor Mourad Bezzeghoud

Environmental Sciences

Director: Professor António Pedro Santos

Veterinary Science

Director: Professor Elsa Maria Leclerc Duarte

Economics

Director: Professor Joaquim Ramalho

Mechatronics Engineering and Energy

Director: Professor João Figueiredo

Philosophy

Director: Professor Irene Borges Duarte

Management

Director: Professor Cesaltina Pires

Interdisciplinary Management of Landscape

Director: Professor Maria Teresa Pinto Correia

History (inter-university)

Director: Professor Mafalda Soares da Cunha

History

Director: Professor Filipe Themudo Barata

Contemporary History

Director: Professor Helder Fonseca

Art History

Director: Professor José Alberto Machado

History and Philosophy of Science

Director: Professor Maria de Fátima Nunes

Computer Science

Director: Professor Salvador Pinto de Abreu

Linguistics

Director: Professor Maria João Marçalo

Literature

Director: Professor Elisa Esteves

Mathematics

Director: Professor Feliz Brandão Minhós

Music and Musicology

Diretor: Professor Benoît Gibson

Chemistry

Director: Professor Maria Manuela Carrott

Sociology

Director: Professor Carlos Alberto da Silva

Legal and Political Theory and International Relations

Director: Professor Silvério Rocha e Cunha